Las Vegas Had Over 100 Days Over 100 Degrees; You Need a Plan to Survive.

I have endured four Las Vegas summers so far and really don’t want to deal with another. There is an art to this survival. It means totally changing your lifestyle. When it is 115 degrees for two months straight and when the thermometer reminds you that you are over 100 consecutive days above 100 degrees, something has to change.

 

I have lived in some hot places

Las Vegas is in the desert and I knew this when I moved here. I have lived in other hot places in the world such as New York, that’s hot and humid. I have lived in Atlanta, Georgia, that’s hot and not so humid. When I was in the U.S. Air Force, I did my boot-camp at Lackland AFB in July and August, now that was hot. I have lived in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, that’s hot and beautiful. I have lived 1,000 miles north of Rio de Janeiro in Northern Brasil, in a city called Fortaleza, which is near the equator and that is hot, windy, and rains all the damn time. But Las Vegas is the hottest place I have ever lived hands down. And it never rains here.

 

A dry heat

Anyone ever hear some people say, “Well, it’s a dry heat.” What exactly does that mean? I can’t figure that out and seriously have never thought that when I was about to faint. I understand the concept of the “no sticky” heat but 115 degrees is like opening your oven door and sticking your head into the oven. Seriously, it is so hot, you have to watch out what material your shoes are made of for fear that they will melt which has happened to me just walking from the parking lot into Walmart. Forget laying at the pool. You will be “pan roasted” in 20 minutes. This is the hot I am talking about.

 

What the hell is SPF?

The highest SPF sunblock on the market is Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Body Mist Sunblock SPF 100+. It’s $89 for 5 ounces at Amazon. Are ya kidding? Insane cost but I am always confused with which SPF to use and I think I will suggest to them, they just simply call it Las Vegas Sunblock. Then everyone will immediately know how potent it is and buy the correct SPF.

 

Survival tips for the Las Vegas Summer

  • Become a Vampire–Do as much as possible at night. It is brutally hot but at least if you go food shopping, you won’t have to worry about the ice cream becoming liquid in the 5 minute car ride home. You will be surprised how crowded Walmart is at 3am in the summer months.
  • Cut down on Caffeine–Caffeine dehydrates your body and can easily contribute to heat stroke and that can kill ya really fast. Instead drink juice and lots of water.
  • Wear a Hat—Get used to wearing a hat. They are so important to keep your head cool out of the direct sunlight and that keeps your body cooler
  • Carry two Bandanas–Any type will do. They are great to soak in water and wrap one around your forehead and the other around your neck. If you can get a ice cube take two and locate them in the bandana that you tie around your neck so the cubes rest on your cardioid artery and will cool the blood to the brain.
  • ALWAYS keep a 24 pack of water and an umbrella and a chair in your car—You never know where you will break down. It could be where there is no shade and even 30 minutes without shade and water can quickly diminish your ability to survive. Especially if you have high blood pressure, overweight, pregnant or any type of medical condition.

 

I can’t list everything you need to do to survive but the 5 Ps are a great thing to remember. Proper Planning Prevents Poor Performance. We don’t plan on having an accident but we should have have an accident, have a plan.

Leave a comment